Weaving Part III: My first ‘Real’ scarf

I found 100% cotton fingering weight yarn on etsy that I fell in love with. I knew it had to be woven, it sort of ‘told me’ that it needed to be woven, not knit. (all of you fiber artists out there, I KNOW you have had a similar experience) I decided to jump right in to weaving a fingering weight scarf as my second project so I pulled out my 10 dent heddle and went to work warping! This time though I had the help of my trusty assistant, The Boy, who was so sweet and helpful as I wrapped what seemed to be a thousand strands of yarn and wound them on to my loom….

2 hours later my loom was warped…

It took me about a week of obsessively weaving and checking my edges to created a very very long scarf, that I LOVE!

I purposefully chose a yarn that made it’s own stripes. It worked for me! I will definitely be doing this again 🙂 I used every bit of yarn! There was maybe a foot left afterwards.

scarf

I think my OCD tendencies really helped with the edges this time. I was very careful to check after each strand was woven to make sure there was no pulling or extra yarn. It took me a bit longer but it was worth it. Who wants to start weaving now!?!?

Leave a Reply

