Spinning a Purple Yarn (Part 3)

Research.  A word that strikes fear into the hearts of students young and old.  Me?  I love research.  I set about researching spinning with an open mind ready to learn.  I was ready but it was like setting off to kindergarten.  What if I didn’t like it?  What if it didn’t like me?  I had high hopes for this spinning thing.  I had the newly acquired tools set before me like school supplies ready for the new school year.

Amethyst Top & Louet Spindle

Spindle and Top

Time to head off to school.  Which way do I go?  What turns do I take?  How will I recognize my teacher when I get there?  The internet is a marvelous thing.  I started with the place everyone should start: YouTube.  I started with Spinning Yarn on a Drop Spindle – Tutorial with Megan LaCore.  I learned some good information here about the leader and drafting.  Good stuff.  But I was not convinced that this was my teacher.

I did a little research and saw one name mentioned above all others Annie Franquemont.  It turns out, she has a video available on YouTube also.  Great.  I started watching Introduction to Spinning, Part 1.  This video started at a much more basic level.  Was this indeed my teacher?  Perhaps, but I thought I would look at a few more options.  (And, no, I have not yet looked for Part 2.)

Books?  How about books?  The problem with me and books is that I am an immediate gratification kind of person.  So, off to Amazon I went to look for books that could be downloaded instantatiously to my Kindle app on my iPad.  I found two that looked interesting and downloaded the first chapter of each.  I ended up buying them both as they are each good for different reasons.  The first is Spinning in the Old Way: How (and Why) To Make Your Own
Yarn With A High-Whorl Handspindle by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts.  The second is Teach Yourself VISUALLY Handspinning by Judith MacKenzie McCuin.  Great books.  These are going to be fabulous resources as I progress into spinning.

At this point my little brain is full of information.  I have not done one single thing with my school supplies though.  Even though I was uncertain that I had found my teacher, there I was, seated in a classroom with people who knew more than me instructing me on how to go about this thing called spinning.  There was no better time than now.  I picked up my supplies and tried to put together everything I had heard and read and seen.  I put a leader of black wool on my spindle, I broke off a chunk of my purple wool, I pre-drafted.  I felt like I had no idea what I was doing.

Turns out, I had no idea what I was doing.  But on I went.  I spun, I back-spun (oops!), I made yarn and broke the yarn.  After about an hour or so, I had a bunch of loose, tight, medium, over-twisted, under-twisted yarn.  SUCCESS!  I made a bit of purple yarn!  See?

Spinning: Attempt 1

My first yarn

I obviously have a lot to learn.  But this is kindergarten, right?  I have a long time to go before I am expected to graduate!  Next time, I will show more about my attempts and display more purple yarn.  Real purple yarn.

3 responses to “Spinning a Purple Yarn (Part 3)

  1. Its beautiful!!! Congrats on your first yarn!

  2. Success~

  3. Beautiful and inspiring! And a big thank you for naming your beginner resources – I think I may be joining you in kindergarten soon 😉

Leave a Reply

