When to say “when”

Sometimes I’m a quitter.

When do you give in?  Give up?  Get out?

I am working on a test knit for a sweater.  It is lovely, and oh-so-innovatively designed.  I love everything about it, but I just can’t get it cast-on.  Well I can, but it doesn’t look right.

Sleeves for my DLP’s sweater – I haven’t quit on these… yet.

So here I am, a knitter of moderate experience.  Experience limited in time perhaps – but not substance – struggling with casting-on.  I’ve emailed the designer.  She was charming and understanding.  Her work is beautiful and not for the faint of heart, so I imagine she is not unaccustomed to people quitting.  But when?  How long should I try?

I love the design.  I like the yarn.  I want the sweater.  Do I quit?

When do you say “when”?

Kind regards,

Kelly

7 responses to “When to say “when”

  1. Quitting? It’s not really quitting, but saying no at this time. I prefer to think that it is a project on hold. I only truly quit thing that I realize I will not like when the project is completed. Wingspan was one of these projects – I started and got about three wedges in and realized I wasn’t going to enjoy knitting it and I wasn’t going to like it. So I quit.

  2. Knitting is like reading – it’s what I do for fun and relaxation, not what I HAVE to do. And I have at least one book that I have started seven times and never got into – and then one day, I was in the right space, the stars were aligned, the atmospheric pressure was perfect – and it clicked and I wondered why I’d never read it before because it was so good. So if the knitting isn’t clicking – put it aside for a while. Don’t hate what you love to do!

  3. I’m going to have to echo the ladies above. I very rarely stop a project altogether. I tend to be pretty stubborn about finishing what I start, even if it’s a long time later (hello socks that have been in progress for over a year…). If you know you will love it, I say carry on! I know test knits usually have a deadline, but perhaps you can ask for an extension and work on something else for a little while, as a sort of palette cleanser.

  4. Maybe the cast-on is pulling a fast one on you? Maybe it will be ok after a few rows – sometimes the cast-on edge doesn’t look right to me either. Could you change the yarn you’re using? Or the color? Sometimes I put my knitting aside because I’m bored with the color, or the stitch pattern, or the tiny ass needles. So far, I haven’t quit and frogged any project. There are a few in deep hibernation, but I still think I will like them. If you know you’ll hate it, then quit…but if there’s some chance you’ll make it, go for it. And actually, it might be interesting feedback to the designer that you just couldn’t get into it – are there others having the same issue?

  5. Hibernate! You will absolutely love it, when the time is right to start & finish it.

  6. Well I’m all for not finishing something that you don’t love or have a good feeling about – that’s just a waste of good yarn, and you really don’t want to turn knitting, something amazing and relaxing in to a chore (which is why Christmas knitting is NEVER fun). However, if this is a test knit for the group I’m thinking about… you may have to finish… or face the scary consequences.

Leave a Reply

