I blame my grandmother and YouTube

My name is Carolyn, and yes, I was once kicked off of the school bus for several months for being too sarcastic to my bus-driver. I’m hoping he has gotten a little bit better at taking sass and sarcasm from a 3rd grader, thanks to me.

“Me and my pup Reese doing some knitting photography”

About a year ago I innocently told my partner “I think I’m going to take up knitting as a hobby, what do you think?” His naïve response, “That sounds great!” — He had no idea what was in store for him and our small 1,000 square foot house. On the bright side? He always knows what I want for Christmas, birthdays and our anniversary.

My grandmother taught me how to knit when I was 12, but it didn’t really stick. I thought it was interesting but truthfully getting me to sit still for a couple of hours was impossible. Plus, I just thought a garter stitch scarf was a bit… ugly… and had no idea you could make anything else.

THANKFULLY, I was enlightened approximately a year ago to the possibilities that knitting offers when I found Ravelry and decided to take up this new hobby. At first my partner thought it was funny seeing me cursing at the two wooden sticks in my hands that just kept making tangles, despite the awesome help that YouTube videos offer, but then he saw a change… and a little bit of fear crept in to his eyes.

The spare bedroom is now my knitting room, I have a closet filled with yarn instead of clothing, and the coffee table is home to at least one project at all times which means no feet on the knitting! (This is the boy’s least favorite change)

PLUS! I found people to enable my knitting! (Like I really needed that…) I met this group of fantastic individuals from all over the world that Oooooh and Aaaaaah over your successes and wince with each rip that you have to make. It’s a family of sorts (or a very good group of friends that you hang out with at the bar – perfect metaphor Kelly).

Support, sarcasm, walking the line at all times; that’s what we are about at the Back of the Bus Full of Yarn!

Enjoy-

Carolyn

2 responses to “I blame my grandmother and YouTube

  1. Yaaay Carolyn! So glad you’re here!

  2. Hi Carolyn, I think you’ll like it here! We are serious enablers, so if you don’t have a big enough queue yet, it’t sure to grow.

Leave a Reply

